National Science Day 2024 Celebrations

PG Department of Physics, DAV College Jalandhar celebrated National Science Day 2024 on February 28, 2024, by organizing various events on Conservation of energy resources. The events were supported and catalysed by Punjab State Council for Science and Technology (PSCST), National Council for Science & Technology Communication (NCTSC), Department of Science & Technology (DST), Govt. of India.
To start with the celebrations, the members of teaching and non-teaching staff and students were encouraged to save fuel by using public transport, car pooling, traveling on bicycles and traveling on foot to college.
A signature campaign was organized with the theme of “Save on Something on Fossil Fuel Conservation and Sustainable Habits” to inspire students and teachers to adopt saving habits. Dr. Ravinder Kaur and Dr. Ritu Pal coordinated this event. The campaign commenced with the signature of Principal Dr. Rajesh Kumar, followed by other staff members and students. Enthusiastically, students and teachers contributed by crafting impactful slogans to support the cause.
Along with the signature campaign, a poster presentation competition on various indigenous technologies for a sustainable future was organized. A total of 41 students from both UG and PG classes enthusiastically participated in this event, showcasing their talent through the creation of 33 posters on various topics such as indigenous technologies, fossil fuel depletion, groundwater depletion, global warming, pollution and probable solutions to tackle environmental degradation.
The coordination of this event was managed by Dr. Reena Devi and Prof. Rahul Sekhri, ensuring its seamless execution. Adding to the prestige of the occasion, Dr. Dinesh Arora, Prof. Anu Gupta, and Dr. Sanjay Sharma graciously accepted the role of judges, bringing their expertise to evaluate the presentations. Ms. Tanu Kumari (B.Sc. Bio. Tech Sem-IV Topic: Reduce Reuse and Recycle) secured the first prize, while Ms. Khushi Sharma (M.Sc. Physics Sem-IV Topic: Global Warming) claimed the second prize in this highly competitive event.
Simultaneously, a PowerPoint presentation Competition on the theme of Indigenous Technology for Viksit Bharat was organized. The event was coordinated by Dr. Navjeet Sharma and Dr. Shivani. 18 students from UG and PG classes participated in the competition, while 60 students listened to their novel ideas. Prof. Tnu Mahajan, Prof. Sharad Manocha, and Dr. Abhinay Thakur were the judges of this event. Ms. Akanksha Vig from B.Sc. Computer Science, 3rd year won the first prize and Ms. Saloni Kamboj from B. Sc Economics, 3rd year won the second position.
After the PPT Competition, an expert lecture on the topic “Indigenous Technologies in Renewable Energy: India’s Vision 2030” was delivered by Dr Nikhil Gakkhar, Scientific Officer D, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), Govt. of India, New Delhi. The event was coordinated by Dr. Sharanjit Sandhu and Dr. Preety.
Dr. Nikhil commenced his presentation by providing an overview of renewable energy and explaining various sources such as solar energy, wind energy, hydro energy, bio-mass, and green hydrogen. He highlighted governmental initiatives aimed at promoting renewable energy and outlined India’s ambitious vision for achieving zero carbon emissions by 2030. During the talk, Dr. Nikhil shared notable achievements of the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) in collaboration with different institutions. He also shed light on indigenous technologies developed by harnessing wind energy, hydro energy, bio-mass, etc. He encouraged students to seize opportunities in the rapidly growing field of renewable energy. He stressed the significance of individual contributions, emphasizing that collective efforts could make India self-sustainable in energy production by 2030.
In the last an awareness rally titled “Walk towards Sustainable Future” was organized by the PG Department of Physics, DAV College, Jalandhar in collaboration with Punjab State Council for Science and Technology. The initiative was taken to motivate individuals towards a sustainable future.
The event was coordinated by Dr. Sunil Thakur and Dr. Summit, while the students Ashutosh, Sumit, Janvi, and Khushi (M.Sc. Physics) ensured the smooth conduct of the rally.
Students conveyed their message to passersby throughout the route of the rally by distributing pamphlets mentioning the steps for ensuring a sustainable future. In the event, 100 students from various disciplines participated with great enthusiasm.
Principal Dr. Rajesh Kumar, commended this initiative taken by the Physics Department and congratulated the participants for joining this noble cause. Along with students, senior teaching staff members Prof. Archna Oberoi, Prof. Kunwer Rajeev, Prof. Anu Gupta, Dr. Sanjay Sharma, Dr. Sharanjit Kaur, Dr. Navjeet Sharma, and others were also present.