Awareness Talk on POSH ACT.

Women Empowerment and Grievance Redressal Cell, D.A.V. College Jalandhar organized Awareness Talk on POSH ACT.
An awareness talk was conducted by the Women Empowerment and Grievance Redressal Cell, D.A.V. College Jalandhar in collaboration with IIC on Prevention of Sexual Harassment at Workplace (POSH) ACT,2013. Dr. Rupam Jagota, Associate Dean & Professor, Department of Law, GNDU Regional Campus, Jalandhar was the guest speaker and the information delivered by her was very relevant and enlightening for the audience.
Dr. Rajesh Kumar, Principal, Prof. Archana Oberoi, Vice-Principal and Presiding Officer, Internal Complaint Committee Against Sexual Harassment, Dr. Ashok Khurana, Dr. Kunwer Rajeev, Prof. Sonika, Members of Committee and Dr. Deepali Handa, Convener, Women Empowerment and Grievance Redressal Cell accorded a floral welcome to Dr. Rupam Jagota.
Dr. Deepali Handa extended a formal welcome to the guest speaker on behalf of the Women Empowerment and Grievance Redressal Cell of the college.
Principal Dr. Rajesh Kumar, in his address told the audience about the significance of POSH Act and its aim to address workplace sexual harassment of women.
The guest speaker Dr. Rupam Jagota in her talk highlighted that this law has enabled Indian women to stand up for their rights and assert their autonomy at the workplace. She emphasised that POSH ACT has been made to provide women with a safe and secure working environment and has also put in place mechanisms to prevent and redress complaints of sexual harassment. Dr. Jagota also highlighted on “Vishaka Guidelines” that were ordered by the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India in Vishaka and others Vs State of Rajasthan case in 1997, regarding sexual harassment at workplace, a landmark judgement which helped with giving way to the POSH ACT,2013. She also mentioned about the welcomed and unwelcomed behaviour at workplace.
The audience including faculty and students found the session to be extremely engaging and of a great help to them in their everyday life.
The stage was conducted by Dr. Komal Soni and formal vote of thanks was proposed by Prof. Geetika Jain.
On this occasion Dr. Seema, Prof. Punit Puri, Dr. Seema Sharma, Dr. Rajwant Kaur, Prof. Pooja Sharma,Dr. Ekjot Kaur, Prof. Sudha, Prof. Vishal Sharma, Prof. Geetika Jain, Dr. Kirandeep Kaur, Dr. Komal Soni, Dr. Preeti Aneja, Dr. Kapila Mahajan, Dr. Sapna Sharma, Dr. Hina Arora and students were present.