Teej festival

Teej Celebrated at D.A.V. College Jalandhar
Teej festival is a well known event of celebrations especially in Punjab region. A function to celebrate Teej was organized by Women Empowerment and Grievance Redressal Cell of D.A.V. College, Jalandhar on August 18, 2023 in the Hall of Fame . Major (Dr.) Irwin Kaur, PCS, Assistant Commissioner, District Administration, Jalandhar graced the function as the Chief Guest. Principal Dr. Rajesh Kumar, Vice-Principal Prof. Archana Oberoi, Prof. Sonika ,Dr. Deepali Handa, Convener , Women Empowerment and Grievance Redressal Cell and the members of the staff welcomed the chief guest. The function started with DAV anthem and the lighting of the lamp.
Dr. Kirandeep Kaur conducted the stage and highlighted the significance of Teej. Dr. Deepali Handa formally welcomed the chief guest on coming to the college campus on the auspicious occasion. Chief guest Major (Dr.) Irwin Kaur congratulated everyone on the occasion and motivated all the girl students to be resilient and to have patience and perseverance in the journey of life to achieve success. She said that there was no alternative to hard work in life. She also shared her journey of success beginning as a doctor, serving the armed forces and finally serving as a civil servant at present in the capacity of Assistant Commissioner.
The function included enthralling dance performances and songs by the girl students. Traditional Punjabi Culture was on display with different articles of cultural importance . Food stalls were also there, students and female staff members enjoyed a lot. Overall the day was vibrant with moments of remembrance and enjoyment. Laudable Principal Dr. Rajesh Kumar appreciated the joint efforts of students and teachers on the successful organization of the event reflecting our rich culture and said that this event is the celebration of womanhood indeed. The committee members of Women Empowerment and Grievance Redressal Cell Dr. Deepali Handa, Dr. Kirandeep Kaur, Dr. Preety, Prof. Geetika Jain, Prof. Komal Soni, Dr. Varun Dev Vasishtha, Dr. Kapila Mahajan, Dr. Sapna Sharma, Prof. Hina Arora, Prof. Kuldeep Khullar and all the female staff members were present.
The function concluded with a formal vote of thanks, presented by Prof. Geetika Jain.