Chess Tournament

"Diya"and "Aarav" show cased their best move and got honoured as best young players in the chess tournament held at DAV College,Jalandhar.

DAV College’s Acumen Chess Club organised third open prize money chess tournament. This tournament was started on a positive note by lighting the lamp by the chief guests and DAV College Principal Dr S.K.Arora. Chief gust were honoured by bouquets.

This competition was held on a large base where near about 305 player participated. The participation of participants was not state locked, rather the players from Tripura, west Bengal, Maharashtra also came to DAV College Jalandhar to participate. In this open tournament kids from age 6 to 72 years old players also participated here. The best thing about this tournament was that, handicapped players also gave their best performance here and enjoyed a lot too.



World chess Champion ICCD Malika Handa, Common wealth bronze medalist Tanmay Jain, Under-8 Category India’s representative in chess Pankaj Sharma also participated in this Chess Tournament.
This competition was divided into different categories, they were : under 7, under 11, under 13, under 15 and under 19. Winners of each categories were given awards.

Special awards were given to:
Best Player: Diya Setia
Best player Boy: Aarav Sharma
Best youngest player (girl): Diviya Setia
Best veteran player: Kamar Khan
Best Jalandhar player: Amit Sharma
Best handicap player: Malika
Best DAV player: Manik
Winner of each category was given prize money too.

Winner of age categories were:
Under 7 (girls): Inayat
Under7 (Boys): Charan
Under9: Vidit
Under 13: Ishan
Under15: Anmol
Under19: Prithvi

Other winners were Pradeep Arora,Sumit Gaurav,Dev Chantilal,Tejinder Pal, Vikas, Saivik Chaudhari, Pukhraj, Vaibhav, Tajinder, Ravi Sharma,Pankaj Sharma, Lavish, Anirbun,Bir Singh, Shubhum, N.C.Chauhan, Arun, Amanpreet, Komal, Bipin,Lalit,Kumar Tulani,Sukhjeet,Itkhab Aalam, Rohit,Bikramjeet,Govind.

All the winners were given awards by Arjun Ward winner Varinder Singh(Hockey Olympian), Guest of honour hockey Olympian and Ranjeet Singh award winner Sanjeev Kumar Dang ,National congress Leader Dinesh Dhaal and Bobby Dhaal.

After the successful ending Dr Manu Soodh(HOD Phy.Education) President of DAV Acumen Chess Club thanked the particpants and congratulated the winners. He also acknowledge the in put of event organiser Brijesh Talwar, Prof Surabh Raj, and Varun Kumar. Dr Manu Soodh also thanked Principal Dr S.K.Arora for always being such a big support