DAV organised the 13th National Youth Parliament

In order to give a real parliamentary feel whole of seminar room was arranged like that. Prime minister was sitted on the right side of speaker and the depty speaker of opposition party was seated to left side of speaker. Students were wearing ethnic cloths according to their role,which made parliment look sureal.

Out of whole country 55 universities are taking part,in which D.A.V college jalandhar is categorised under group B with a team of 70 students.

The judgment committee, consisted three members:-
1) Shri Santokh Singh Chaudhary(Member of Parliament)

2)Dr Suresh Prasad Singh( registrar of Chanyakya National law university,Patna)

3)Dr Neeru Sharma(HOD of political science, B.D.Arya College,Jalandhar)

D.A.V college is already a winner for the 10th and the 11th Youth parliament.

D.A.V College, Jalandhar conducted 13th National Youth Parliament(Group level), organised by Department of Political Science. Sponsored by Ministry of Parliamentry Affairs, Government of India, Delhi. The main reason behind the competition is to give an idea to students about how the parliament work’s in our country and create an interest in their mind to join politics and represent our country, work for the very own nationality which give him/her an identity.

The Chief Guest for youth parliament was Shri Santokh Singh Chaudhary,Member of Parliament (Lokh Sabha,Jalandhar district of Punjab) and was honoured by College principal Dr B.B.Sharma, Principal Anup Vats,Vice Principal V.K.Sareen, Prof K.K.Ghai,Prof Satesh Tandon,Dr Ashwani Sharma,Prof Sharadh Manocha,Dr Dinesh Arora and P.R.O Prof Manish Khanna.

Principal Dr B.B.Sharma addressed Santokh Singh as a “Gentalman Politician” appriciated his kind and loving nature and the ability of avoiding unwanted controversies. Principal told the youth that they got potential to today’s youth is tomorrows future,they can achieve high goals,they got the capacity to work hard,be passionate and full of energy,so our nation can depend upon the up comming leaders like you.

Activites of the program-

Oath taking ceremony for new ministers, obituary speech, question hour, papers to be laid,zero hour, paper laid by upper chamber of youth parliament, welcome ceremony for british parliamentary delegates and motion of no confidence.

Important topic talked about:

Nation’s security,inflation,corruption, unemployment, black money, indian money in international bank, electricity problem.

The parliament starts with entry of Marshall Sam Abraham and Speaker Tavishi Thapar when whole of the house stands to show her respect and greet her, which completes the first activity of the session. After the greeting Speaker asks Secretary General Harshit Sandhir to call upon new minster for oath taking ceremony, where Disha Kundu and Shivantika Nagar take oath in bangla an hindi language respectively, which completes the second activity of the house.
In third activity the speaker of the house inform the member about the demise of their colleague, accompanied with obituary speech of Prime Minster Gaurav Rattna and Leader of Opposition Megha Malhotra expressing sorrow and grief on the loss of an effective parliamentarian, later silence for few moment was kept in memory for the minister leading to the end of the third activity.
For the fourth activity Prime Minister introduced new ministers to the parliament Deepak Verma and Shailesh Pandey with a huge around of applause.
Call for the fifth activity was made by Speaker that was, Question Hour, where first question was put forward to HRD minister Surbhi Arora by member of opposition party Miss Harneet Kaur about degradation on the standard of quality of education, to which HRD minister gave reasons which satisfied to the both sides, and other question was asked to Minster of Agriculture and Farmer welfare Miss Ananya Singh about the usage of banned pesticides in Inida, from Aarti Sood and Bhakti Bawa. Third question was asked to Abhijeet Singh the Defence minister of the Youth parliament by Himalaya Prakash member of opposition, about the relation between India and Pakistan. Fourth and final question for the question hour activity was asked from Tanya Wadhwa the Railway minister of the youth parliament for Anti Collision Device by Inderpreet Kaur and Neha Miglani whose positive answer cheered the house which made end to the fifth activity of the house.
The sixth activity was divided in two part, first was about serious breach of privilege whose alam was raised by Miss Sushmita to the Speaker and second part was about papers to be laid by Ministers of the house Miss Sadhika Chopra and Miss Kritika Chopra, which led an end to the activity.
The seventh activity consisted Mr Gauravpreet sharing his concern about the flood in Bihar and speaker introduced Foreign Delegates of UK to the house through which seventh activity was ended.
The Final activity was Motion of no Confidence requested by the leader of opposition and depty speaker Manu Mittal as according to the party the ruling party was able to run the country properly. Where she and her fellow party member Miss Gurkirat, Miss Anmolpreet raised questions to the on-going policies and huge issue of corruption which totally changed the on-going enviorment of parliament. After long speech of criticism and allegation by the opposition party The Finance Minister Roopali Taneja and Prime minister gave satisfying reasons to go against the motion, the voting was pretty much for supporting the ruling party which cause motion to be defeated. Which led an peaceful end to parliamentary session with happiness.

The member of the press who have witnessed the proceding are :- Gagan kumra ;Shikha ;Bhupash ;Punay .

During his speech, Minister Santokh Singh Chaudhary ji shared the fact that he himself was a student of D.A.V college jalandhar, and reason behind the success of the college is disciplined nature attained from ages.His father was a student here too. He admired the youth parliament held by the college and said”he thought he was sitting in a real one” he liked the way students put forward their veiw for ongoing problems in the country, and promised one of the participant will be a minsiter in future for sure. He mentioned that today’s genratiom tomorrows leader and seeing their performance he believed that country’s future is in good hands.For D.A.V college he stated that he got special bond with the college and feel happy when gets any invitation from here and congratulated political science deptt and principal of college for the hard work put behind the event.

The cheif architect behind this program was Dr Dinesh Arora. Prof Sharadh Manocha congratulated students for a great performance and Dr Dinesh gave vote of thanks.

Best performers/speakers
1)Tavishi Thapar
2)Megha malhotra
3)Gaurav Rattna
4)Gauravpreet singh
5)Rupinder Kaur
6) Gurkirat Kaur

Above mention students were given momento and all participating students were awarded participation certificates,by Dr B.B.Sharma,Dr Ashwani Sharma, Principal Anup Vats, Prof Sharadh Manocha.

The guest of honour was gifted shawl and momento by DAV college.

Speaker : Trvishri Thapar
Leader of opposition : Megha
Prime minister : Gaurav Ratna
Member of opposition :Gauravpreet
Member of opposition :Gurkirat
Defence minister : Abhijeet
Railway minister :Tanya Wadhwaa
Minister of agricultur : Ananya singh
HRD minister :Surbhi Arora
Secretary General : Harshit