“Science Qalloquium: Emerging trends in Basic & Applied Sciences” – Day 2

The first technical session of second day of National Conference “Science Qalloquium: Emerging trends in Basic & Applied Sciences” of DAV College Jalandhar started with the invited talk of Dr. D K Sharma, Professor, Centre for Energy Studies, IIT, Delhi. He elaborated on the availability of coal and petroleum in the country and need to switch over to biomass as energy source fro the sustained growth of the economy of the country. The second lecture was delivered by Dr. Ashok Kumar Ganguli, Director, Institute of Nano Science & Technology, Mohali. He explained the basic principles of some topics concerning nanoscience and their applications. The first session was chaired by Dr. R K Seth, Dean,(Science & Engineering) Sri Sri University, Palampur.

The second technical sessions started with the lecture of Dr. Anupama Sharma, Panjab University, Chandigarh. She presented her research work related to synthesis and uses of polymer nanocomposites. The second lecture was delivered by Dr. G S Sodhi, Khalsa College, University of Delhi, Delhi. He has filed for ‘ten Indian patents on fingerprinting’. His illuminating talk included many examples of tracking criminals on the basis of fingerprinting.

The second session was chaired by Dr. B S Kaith, Professor, Chemistry and Registrar, DR. B R Ambedkar, NIT, Jalandhar, who was also chief guest for the valedictory function. He congratulated the organizing committee of National Conference for organizing this event, He said that such events are necessary for scientific interactions. He showed concern about the pollution created in environment because of burning of polymeric materials. He emphasized on the need for proper management for disposal of non-degradable polymers for keeping environment clean and green. He presented the awards to five best poster presenters and certificates to participants.

Earlier the resource persons and the chief guest were welcomed by the Principal Dr. B B Sharma, Organising Secretaries Dr. Rajeev K. Sharma, and Dr. Navjeet Sharma told that such events are oragnised for students to interact with scientists which motivate students to take challenges in research. Dr. Hemant Kumar conducted the stage. Prof. T D Saini, HOD Physics and convenor of the conference presented vote of thanks.

Prof. P K Kapoor, Prof. P K Sharma, Dr. Satish Kumar, Prof. S S Behl, Prof. Punit Puri Prof. Bhartendu Singla, Dr. Renuka, Dr. Komal, Dr. Sanjay, Dr. Sumiti, Prof. Anu Gupta, Prof. Sharanjit Kaur were also present.