“Emerging Trends in Basic and Applied Sciences”

The two-day National Conference “Science Colloquium :  “Emerging Trends in Basic and Applied Sciences” under the aegis of science Departments of the college started today with the inaugural address by Dr. R K Kohli, Vice-Chancellor, DAV University, Jalandhar. He exhorted the students to join research, be annotative and contribute to the development of society.

The keynote address was delivered by Dr. A K Sood, aluminum of this college as Pre-Engineering students in the year 1967-68. He is presently professor in physics at Indian Institute of Sciences, Bangalore and Padmashree awardees. He is also the Secretary General of ‘The World Academy of Sciences’. During his address he introduced the subject nanoscience and delved on his research work related to nanotubes, grapheme and physics of soft matter and their applications. He has published more than 328 research papers and holds 2 US patents and 4 Indian patents.

The first technical session was held at two venues. At Venue I, first session was chaired by Dr. G S Chuhan, Himachal Preadesh University, Shimla. The first lecture was delivered by Dr. Anil Kumar, Head, Department of Chemistry, IIT Roorkee, whereas the second lecture was delivered by Dr.  Mahavir Singh, Department of Physics, HP University Shimla. At the second venue, the first lecture was delivered by Dr. U G Banerjee, Head, Department of Pharmaceutical Technology, NIPER, Mohali, where as  the second lecture was delivered by Dr. Sucheta Sharma, Professor of Biochemistry, PAU Ludhiana. These speakers elaborated about their research fields.

The second technical session was also held at two venues. At the first venue, the lectures were delivered by by Dr. B R Mehta from IIT, Delhi, Dr. Manoj Kumar from GNDU, Amritsar and Dr. R K Seth from Sri Sai University, Palampur. At the second venue the lectures were delivered by Dr. Daizy Batish from PU Chandigarh, Dr. Sharda Potukuchi from SMVDU, Jammu and Dr. Jagbir Singh, Punjabi University, Patiala.

In the last session 172 posters were displayed by different participants and evaluated by Dr. R K Seth (Physics), Dr. Daizy Batish (Botany), Dr. Sharada (Zoology and Biotechnology) and Dr. Girish Kumar (Chemistry).

Earlier, the delegates and resource persons were welcomed by Principal Dr. B B Sharma. 373 delegates participated in today’s conference Dr. Hemant Kumar conducted the stage. Prof. P K Kapoor, Head, Department of Chemistry, Prof. T D Saini, Prof. P K Sharma, Prof. S S Behl, Prof. Satish Sharma, Prof. Atul Bhalla, Dr. Navjeet Sharma were also present on this event.

Dr. Rajeev Kumar Sharma organizing secretary of the conference thanked all the resource persons to spare their valuable time for this event.