National conference on 6th and 7th March

The DAV College Jalandhar is organizing two day national conference on emerging trends in basic and applied sciences on 6th and 7th March, 2014. This conference is targeted towards researchers, practitioners, educators and students to share innovative ideas, issues, recent trends and future directions related to the field of basic sciences and technology. In this conference eighteen resource persons will deliver talks on various fields of sciences. Around 200 research papers will be presented in this conference. 387 delegates are registered from various institutions of Punjab and neighbouring states to attend this national conference.

The conference will be inaugurated by Professor A. K. Sood. Dr. A.K. Sood is a Professor in Department of Physics at Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.  He was the President of Indian Academy of Sciences from 2010 to 2012.  He is now the Secretary General of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS). His research interests include Physics of Nano systems like nanotubes and graphene and physics of soft matter.  He has published more than 328 papers in refereed international journals and holds 2 US patents and 4 Indian patents.  His work has been recognized by way of many honors and awards.  These include Fellowships of Indian Academy of Sciences, Indian National Science Academy, The National Academy of Sciences, India and The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS).  He is recipient of many awards which include the civilian honor, Padma Shri by Government of India,  S.S. Bhatnagar Prize, G.D. Birla Award, TWAS Prize in Physics, FICCI Prize, Goyal Prize, M.N. Saha Award and Millennium Gold Medal of Indian Science Congress, Sir C.V. Raman Award of UGC, Homi Bhabha Medal of Indian National Science Academy, DAE Raja Ramanna Award of JNCASR, National Award in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology by Government of India, Nano Award by Government of Karnataka and G.M. Modi Award of Science.  He is one of the Executive Editors of an International journal, Solid State Communications and a co-editor of Europhysics Letters. 

Main speakers of this conference are Dr. R. K. Kohli,Vice Chancellor, DAV University, Jalandhar; Dr. Anil Kumar, Head of Chemistry Department, Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee; Dr. Mahavir Singh, Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla; Dr. U. C. Banerjee, NIPER Mohali; Dr. Sucheta Sharma, PAU Ludhiana;Dr. B. R. Mehta, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi;Dr. Manoj Kumar, GNDU, Amritsar; Dr. Daizy R. Batish, Panjab University, Chandigarh;Dr. Sharada Potukuchi, SMVDU, Jammu;Dr. Jagbir Singh, Punjabi University, Patiala;Dr. Ghanshyam S. Chauhan, Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla; Dr. G S Sodhi, S.G.T.B. Khalsa College, Delhi; Dr. D K Sharma, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi; Dr. A K Ganguli, Director, INST, Mohali; Dr. Anupama Sharma, UICET, PU Chandigarh; Dr. B. S. Kaith Registrar, Dr. B R Ambedkar National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar.

Principal Dr B B Sharma told that the Inaugural Session will start at 10.00am and after inaugural session the conference will have two parallel sessions. In one venue invited talks of chemistry and physics and at other venue invited talks of life sciences will be held.